How to delete or deactivate a Facebook account

There are two different methods to get your Facebook account offline. The first is by deactivating, when your account is deactivated you can easily do the following:

  • You can reactivate your account whenever you want
  • People can’t see your Facebook Timeline, or search for you
  • Some information may remain visible (like messages you’ve sent)
  • Facebook saves your account info (like friends and interests) in case you decides to retrieve it back

But deleting your account is a much more serious matter. If you delete your account you won’t be able to retrieve it ever again.

  • Facebook delays deletion for a few days after the request is made. If you log in during that period you can still cancel deletion if you changed your mind.
  • You can’t regain access to your Facebook account once it’s deleted
  • It can take up to 90 days for your data that’s stored in backup systems to be deleted. However, your info isn’t accessible on Facebook during this time
  • Some things aren’t stored in your account, like messages that you’ve sent to friends – these will remain active
  • Copies of some material (like log records) may remain in Facebook’s database, but are “disassociated from personal identifiers,” according to the company

 

How to deactivate Facebook account

To deactivate your Facebook account, follow these steps below:

1. Click the account menu down arrow at the top right of any Facebook page in your web browser
2. Select ‘Settings’
3. Choose ‘General’ in the left column
4. Click ‘Manage your account’
5. Press ‘Deactivate your account’, and then follow the steps to confirm your decision

To reactivate your account after deactivating it, simply log into Facebook with your e-mail and password. Your profile will be entirely reinstated.

How to delete Facebook account

Deleting your Facebook account is a serious decision, so make sure it’s something you really want to do.

  • Go to settings
  •  click the following link and choose the ‘Delete my account’ option:

Before deleting your account, it may be worth downloading your Facebook data. To do this, follow  steps below: 

1. Click the account menu down arrow at the top right of any Facebook page in your web browser
2. Click ‘Download a copy of your Facebook data’ at the bottom of your General Account Settings
3. Choose ‘Start My Archive’

The file that begins downloading will contain your Facebook profile information, so be very careful about where you keep it.